Dr. Ajeet Rohatgi – Regents’ Professor


School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA 30332-0250
Email: ajeet.rohatgi@ee.gatech.edu

Dr. Ajeet Rohatgi is a Regents’ Professor and a Georgia Power Distinguished Professor in the School of Electrical Engineering.  He is the founding director of the University Center of Excellence for Photovoltaic Research and Education at Georgia Tech. He received the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, in 1971, the M.S. degree in Materials Engineering from the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA in 1973, and the Ph.D. degree in Metallurgy and Material Science from Lehigh University,Bethlehem, PA, in 1977.  Before joining the Electrical Engineering faculty at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, in 1985, he was a Westinghouse Fellow at the Research and DevelopmentCenter, Pittsburgh, PA. His current research interests include the understanding of impurity effects in silicon solar cells, gettering and passivation of defects in solar grade silicon, rapid thermal processing of solar cells, design and fabrication of high efficiency cells on low-cost crystalline silicon materials, and design, performance and reliability of photovoltaic systems. As part of the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta, Dr. Rohatgi and his group designed and installed the world’s largest grid-connected, roof-top PV system on the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center built for the Olympics.

Dr. Rohatgi is an IEEE Fellow. He has published over two hundred and seventy technical papers in this field and has been awarded eleven patents. He is on the editorial board of several PV publications and served as general chair for the 28th IEEE Photovoltaic Specialists Conference in Alaska in 2000. Dr. Rohatgi received the Westinghouse Engineering Achievement Award  in 1985 and the Georgia Tech Distinguished Professor Award in 1996 for his research on high efficiency solar cells. In 2003 he received the IEEE PVSC William Cherry Award and the NREL/DOE Rappaport Award for his contributions to Photovoltaics.

Copyright 2004.